Thirty Three? or Four? I don’t know, I’ve lost count

Someone at church said something very profound the other day and I haven’t been able to stop trying to process it.

She said,

When we talk about “doing community” and being relational with people in our community, that doesn’t even necessarily mean the people in our physical neighborhoods or the people we work with every day. It starts in our homes with our own families that we live with or that we live close to, or not close to at all. We need to begin to be relational first with our families.”

Isn’t it something that you don’t hear this part of it everyday I mean, I know a huge part of the heart of our church is “community” and I am learning to step out of my protective bubble a bit more and being more open about the idea of building relationships with women in my church in an effort to be “communal”. All the while, my 70 something year old ONLY living grandparent is living alone in a mobile home park failing miserably at her battle with mental illness and I cant remember the date but it was sometime around Christmas that I was last over there with my son. We brought her a fresh wreath on a old plantation shutter with a poinsettia for some Christmas decor before we left for vacation, we cleaned her kitchen, took out her trash and got the mail for her, all the while she stayed in bed in a deep depression refusing to get up. She lives about 3 miles away. It’s almost April and she was SO appreciative after the fact, that we did all of that for her while she stayed in bed.

How it took someone verbally stating the obvious in order for the friggn light to come on is not only completely sad and shameful but ridiculous!! I do not think I am a stupid person and I am very observant and see through a lot of things that go on around me in life. But for whatever reason I have chalked up the fact that since our grammy is usually in the bell jar and not even getting out of bed half the time so she probably doesn’t want anyone there anyway so we just don’t even bother going. I guess if that is the example I am going to be to my son I shouldn’t expect any different from his children some day. Right?

The bible says;

“But if any widow has children or grandchildren, let them learn first to show piety towards their own family, and to repay their parents, for this is acceptable in the sight of God. 1 Timothy 5:4 world english bible

Perhaps we should pick that thing up and read it a little more often. But that’s for another blog.

Leave a Reply

