Divine Humanity….It Happened

For the majority of my Christian upbringing there wasn’t much emphasis on the fact that Jesus was more than God in human form. I mean, I knew Jesus as God, as my Savior, as the son who God sent to be born in a manger and die on the cross for my sin, and the one who sent the Holy Spirit to guide me through this life and it’s not a terrible thing to see God in His divine glory either because He is above all else God and there is none greater. But to find out that as God, knowing what His plan was to offer redemption for his chosen through His own sacrifice and to learn that He chose to do it as fully human as any of us, (with the exception of being a vile sinner) and having the capability AS God to have been able to withstand the brutal murder He CHOSE to allow happen as no other human being could have ever, it’s almost the most mind blowing experience I have had as a Christian. He could have very easily come in any other way and never have chosen to physically and mentally experience anything similar to what we have, but He didn’t.

As I have been studying the book of Hebrews with some ladies at church, I keep catching myself smiling when I realize I am in a situation where Jesus and I could totally relate together about. But not because He is God and knows everything but for example, we are both parents. Sometimes our children make great choices and we rejoice in their accomplishments, it warms our hearts when they are happy and when we can bless them,and sometimes they need to be guided or reprimanded and we do it out of love that we have for them unconditionally. He and I both “get that”. As His child and as things happen in life that I know He is in complete control of and I don’t like it and I want to stomp my feet in protest, He lovingly comforts me to trust Him. As a mom to two girls in their twenties and a boy who is about to enter Jr High school oh my goodness, I KNOW that Jesus and I can relate to what it’s like to be a parent to that stubborn kid.

The book of Hebrews has many references to Jesus, the great high priest, being able to relate to us.

  • 2:14 Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood, he himself likewise partook of the same things
  • 2:17 Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect
  • 2:18 For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.
  • 4:15 For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.
  • 5:8 Although he was a son, he learned obedience through what he suffered.

Now, I know that had I opened my bible on any given day and read the book of Hebrews I probably would have seen the scripture above and who knows, perhaps it wouldn’t have taken until my 41st year to know Jesus was not exclusively divine in nature but in addition, very much a person like I was.  And it brought up the question of “well how come all these years it was never really taught just how much in common Jesus chose to be with us in addition to being God’?  Are there reservations in the teaching authorities of the church about putting more  emphasis on the fact that God loved us so much that He gave His only son, who would come to us the same way we are born and then to have the same thoughts, feelings, actions, personalities, humor, senses, platonic relationships, sinful temptations yet without sin, that we do. He was probably also amused by those around him,he probably joked with them and he laughed with them, celebrated and mourned with them. He could have very well been annoyed by those around him, angry and frustrated with them not only because of their unwillingness to be obedient but because there were probably “those people” who really sometimes challenge you in daily life to love them and not want to trip them when they walk by. Which of course He would never do. Or would He?

He was like us! He created us in His image and He brought Himself in that image to us so that we could relate to Him. He walked through life for thirty something years and dealt with everything from the bully in the playground as a child to the arrogant punk on the streets who thinks they are better than Him, little did they know who they were dealing with. He gets it. When we struggle with these things in life, He knows, and I feel like having the understanding that He truly does know because chances are He experienced similar situations and emotions I do, it makes it all the more easier to be confident that when I am seeking Him for guidance and direction I can do so knowing that not only am I seeking Jesus the divine but Jesus the divine man who knows exactly what I am feeling because He probably struggled with the same thing, and I can trust that He knows what is best. Not just because He is God and knows EVERYTHING but because like a parent to a child who has already gone through it, He can respond from experience.

How much more comfortable are we with people we can relate to on some level and then when we want to seek the Almighty sitting at the right hand of God the Father, how intimidating that could seem! Like, I’m really going to go to Jesus with this I would hear myself protest in my best valley girl accent. How unworthy and ridiculous of a request to give to Jesus Christ my Lord. But He knows. He gets it. He was here once and He will always be here for us with everything. He knew we would need Him in that way and He knew we would feel intimidated by His Divine Holiness so He chose to come to us that we would draw near to Him in confidence and comfort in knowing, greater than any song you sing in church or off the radio, He TRULY knows and can relate, even in His divine glory seated on the throne. And I think that is awesome!

Leave a Reply

