Reasons we need to NOT argue over our differing opinions about “hot topics” on facebook news feeds like angry religious lunatics speaking to rocks… that will eventually be thrown in your face.

This morning I read some of the outrage happening between Christians and non, who are just appalled that the Duggars reality show was removed from TLC. I laugh. Little does this unbelieving world know, removing this family from their network isn’t going to damage the Duggars one bit because they serve Jesus and He alone is faithful. Not only that, but the Duggars were successful long before TLC took them under their filthy wings and they can easily go back to surviving as they once had and hopefully be able to live off money they made over the years. Frugal as they are even about clothing there is no way they aren’t sitting on a mountain of retirement and if they aren’t, I for one am glad I don’t have to see that disaster unfold in the headlines because out of sight, out of mind. Thanks TLC, for allowing them an opportunity to sow the ridiculousness they reap out of the medias eyes like the rest of us imperfect Christians.

So going back to the arguments on the internet…

As believers, if we just opened up the bible we say we live by, it will easily become clear to us why arguing with an unbelieving world is completely pointless. I know, it seems CRAZY that it’s all right there, but it totally is as I found out. Now, I am no theologian and I understand that some scripture was written for this person and that tribe however I also know by having read 2 Timothy 3:16 that All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work. After having done some digging, I laughed (again) about how the reasons we should steer clear of arguing with an unbelieving world who is continually justifying everything we oppose on facebook news feeds. It’s funny because it’s RIGHT THERE and yet we don’t even go there except to condemn those who don’t even believe in the scripture we throw at them. Why do we even bother? I don’t know but I digress.

So here it goes.. All laid out, cross referenced and in bold where I felt the scripture REALLY applied, for your enjoyment.

Reasons we need to NOT argue over our differing opinions about “hot topics” on facebook news feeds like angry religious lunatics speaking to rocks… 

We are to be;

Quick to hear

Ecclesiastes 5:1-2  Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. To draw near to listen is better than to offer the sacrifice of fools, for they do not know that they are doing evil. Be not rash with your mouth, nor let your heart be hasty to utter a word before God, for God is in heaven and you are on earth. Therefore let your words be few.

Of course we also have the Holy Spirit which technically also makes God with us and maybe even on facebook.. lol

Slow to speak

Matthew 12:36-37 I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak,  for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.

People being not just those unbelieving heathens whom we are fighting with, but people also being US!!!

Slow to anger

Psalms 37:7-9 Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way, over the man who carries out evil devices! Refrain from anger, and forsake wrath! Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil. For the evildoers shall be cut off; but those who wait for the Lord shall inherit the land.

Because, most importantly…

James 1:20  the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. 

BOOM!!!

And so you should;

James 1:21  put away all filthiness and rampant wickedness and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls.

The world isn’t going to live by what the bible says because they don’t fear God and they don’t know Jesus. So mindless bickering at them online about the hot topics of these days, isn’t going to change their hearts about anything except that they will believe they are justified in not being fearful of God and not believing anything about Jesus because He and His followers are quacks.

It seems so Sunday School doesn’t it? Of course we are savages and LOVE a good war of words with people and sometimes a good debate isn’t a bad thing. But if you are going to go out there and try to destroy people with the Bible and act like a complete ass about it, you are an even bigger part of the problem because scripture tells you NOT to do that.

All this to say, Stop being an ass.

3 thoughts on “Reasons we need to NOT argue over our differing opinions about “hot topics” on facebook news feeds like angry religious lunatics speaking to rocks… that will eventually be thrown in your face.

  1. Yep! Or maybe I should say, Amen! There are days when I am hiding so many quarrelsome posts on my newsfeed I wonder why I’m still on Facebook. And the answer is because it’s my only contact with a lot of friends and family members. Someday, that will no longer be enough to keep me there.

  2. I’ll be honest, I didn’t read more than the first line, but just your title made me say, almost outloud, “Amen, sista!” *Hold on while I go back and read..*

    I’m very hesitant what I post on Facebook, for fear of starting a controversy. I tend to keep it light and very rarely say anything that might cause people to take sides. I have a few friends who do that constantly, and it doesn’t take much for me to remove you from my news feed! (Not YOU-you, you’re great!)

  3. My newsfeed keeps getting slower and slower as I keep hiding more and more every day. That’s the beauty about settings, you can use them and not get into trouble for wanting to strangle people lol ❤️

Leave a Reply

