Kids and Doctors

Yesterday I had to take my oldest child to her cardiologist to find out if she will be cleared for surgery on her knee she so desperately needs due to a torn meniscus. Much to our surprise the doctor said that her valve, even though it’s 12 years old, should be good for another 3-5 years and she is cleared for surgery. I dont know why we were surprised. We have such little faith sometimes its ridiculous. I mean, we would have been fine if she needed surgery so to find out she’s good was a very pleasant surprise and we are very thankful.

Once I got off work I took my youngest son to get his firs sports physical. I did not tell him about the part where they check for a hernia because I didnt want him to back out of the appointment for something so stupid. So imagine his shock when the doctor told him to pull down his pants to his thighs, he was SO confused. Thankfully, the PA who was doing the exam was very cool about it and he explained what a hernia was, what it would feel like, where it would be noticeable and what the procedure was going to be like, step by step. I was really impressed with his bedside manner as I listened to the conversation with my back turned and I was looking at the wall behind me, so when my son was asked again to pull down his pants to his thighs and he didn’t, I wasn’t sure what the hesitation was about and then I heard it. The phrase he and I will NEVER forget and probably ALWAYS laugh about for the rest of our lives.

Come on now son, we’re both men here. Lets get the pants down and get this done. So long as you want to be active in sports this is going to always be required so you may as well just get it over with now.

Man, once it was done and I turned back around and made eye contact with my son who looked like he was going to burst into tears, I did the first thing I could to change the mood and asked, ” are you traumatized”? He laughed and said “yeah, I need to go home and eat away my trauma”.

We laughed over and over about the “Come on now son, we’re both men here” and he remembered when in Blackish, Anthony Anderson’s character had to get a prostate exam and he said to the doctor” at least buy me dinner first”, and he laughed and laughed about how the next time he has to get a sports physical that is what he is going to say to the doctor. What a memory.

 

One thought on “Kids and Doctors

  1. I’m so happy for your daughter. And your son. I can understand how he felt based on the first time I had a pelvic exam! But his sense of humor took over and now I bet he can hardly wait (well, you know) until the next exam so he can use that line from Blackish.

Leave a Reply

